Each year, the Society strives to provide vistors and residents alike with a sense of the rich history of the town while also gathering andpreserving the living history of Grafton.
New Exhibit for 2019
Water Power and Mills
In the early 1800's six dams were built on the Saxtons River between Grafton and the Rockingham town line. In 1825 those dams powered four saw mills, three grist mills, two fulling mills, two carding machines and two tanneries, as well as soapstone cutting and processing mills.
1) Dexter and Lyman French's Mill which made sleigh and wagon thills (shafts)
2) Nathan Wheeler's grist and saw mill. In 1908 became Howland Mill to manufacture stocking darners.
3) William Wier Cider Mill. Around 1830 became John and William Wooley woolen factory. Later became White & Wilbur Mill producing lmer, shingles, ground feed, and flour. In 1937 D.P. Howland purchased the mill.
4) Ellery C. Tenney owned a shingle and planning mill. He made hardwood strips which were made into barrel hoops.
5) Cambridgeport dam made power to saw soapstone slabs from the huge blocks. In 1869 this dam supplied power to an adjoining mill, Butterfield and Smith who manufactured soapstone stoves, sinks and other items.
6) Woolley Fulling Mill. Fulling known at tucking or walking, was a step in woollen clothmaking.